The late hour, the diner and rediscovery

I went out last night late for a craving of pancakes which led me to a local 24 hour diner. The late night diner is nothing new to me though I frequented more often in my Arkansas years as I worked late night a lot. But last night it hit me at how peaceful the ‘musicality’ was of the people there, the energy of the place, there was a whole ‘vibe’ that felt comfortable and yet also familiar. Beyond the owls of the night like myself, there were transit and hospital workers on dinner break and it was kind of a reminder of the spirit of the night which has always been the most creative and productive time to me.

These days I work day time hours but I still stay up as late as I can and just sleep less. It’s all just the spirit and most creative time to me as I mentioned. Perhaps it’s just the time when it feels the world is less busy less neurotic and ‘less is more’.

As side bar much of my ‘late night’ activity this week has been revisiting and recording new spins on some of my guitar compositions I created years ago. In recent years I have gotten away from this style and have been working In a more improv approach. In this current period of work I feel like I am rediscovering and reinventing myself, yet again. Keeps me young I hope. Here’s a link to a piece I wrote in 2001, released on my cd Stories My Guitar Told Me, called Transportation Suite.

Scenes from the Diner…

20120317-094339.jpg

20120317-094404.jpg

20120317-094413.jpg

About Jim Goodin

Jim Goodin is founder of Wood and Wire Music and Wood and Wire Ware. Goodin is a World Experimental musician and mobile applications developer.
This entry was posted in acoustic, guitar, Music Label, Reflection, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

